Lea Linse, Carbondale High School Student

Linse, Lea

“Over the last year or so, I’ve taken a pretty active stance on protecting the Thompson Divide, and I’ve encouraged other kids my age to do the same. I think it’s important that we be involved in this issue, because as young people, we will have to live with the consequences of decisions made today for many decades to come. In the time I’ve spent hiking and backpacking in the Thompson Divide, I have been struck by not only the area’s ecological richness, but also the diversity of human activities it supports. I believe that if we degrade this place or its environment, we will lose a special type of land that is extremely valuable and “multi-use” in the truest sense of the word.”

Leave a Reply

